Robert M. Campbell, Jr. Award for Innovation in Early Onset Scoliosis

2020 Award Recipient - George Thompson, MD

Photo: George H. Thompson, MD

Congratulations to Dr. George Thompson for receiving the inaugural Campbell Award at ICEOS 2020 ICEOS Virtual Meeting this November!

George H. Thompson is a graduate of University of Oklahoma Medical School and completed his residency at UCLA followed by a Pediatric Orthopaedic fellowship at the hospital for sick children. He has served at Orthopaedic Department, Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland since 1979. He became Professor and the Director of Pediatric Orthopaedics at Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital in 1993, a position he has held until his Retirement in 2020 becoming Professor Emeritus.

His contributions to Children’s spine have been numerous. He was one of the founders of Growing Spine Study Group and Foundation and extremely active in clinical research. He regularly was engaged in teaching tutorials at POSNA and SRS. He is one of the editors of only textbook in growing spine, soon in its 3rd edition.  He has been recipient of many awards including SRS lifetime achievement award. As past president of Scoliosis Research Society and Pediatric Society of North America, he has been instrumental along with late Robert Campbell, in promoting research and education in the field of early onset scoliosis and continues to contribute , now as a Board member of the newly formed Pediatric Spine Study Group.

2019 Award Recipient - John Emans, MD

Congratulations to Dr. John Emans for receiving the inaugural Campbell Award at ICEOS 2019 this November!

Dr. Emans has made significant contributions to ICEOS and has reigned as a true thought-leader and innovator in the field.  He has had a strong impact on our community and his contributions to the field are of special importance.  His work on complex cases resulting in many modifications of VEPTR device and technique are worthy of recognition. As a sponsor Dr. Brian Snyder wrote in his support letter, "His pedagogical skills are evident in the generation of spine surgeons that he has trained and have become thought leaders in their own right. There is no one more deserving to be the inaugural recipient of the Campbell award to honor Bob’s legacy.

Photo: Program Committee Chair John Smith, MD, Award Winner John Emans, MD, President and Founder Behrooz A. Akbarnia, MD.

About the Award


Dr. Robert M. Campbell, Jr. was a renowned pediatric orthopedic surgeon, especially noted for his invention of the Vertical Expandable Prosthetic Titanium Rib (VEPTR). This award, established in his memory, honors Dr. Campbell and his many accomplishments in the early onset scoliosis field.

The Campbell Award is granted annually at the International Congress on Early Onset Scoliosis to a physician or scientist for outstanding contributions to the care of children with early onset scoliosis. Contributions may include innovative concepts, techniques, devices, or other major contributions which have significantly improved treatment outcomes for these children. While any physician or scientist is eligible to receive the Campbell Award, special consideration will be given to senior thought leaders.

At the ICEOS 10th Anniversary Gala in 2017, Dr. Campbell was awarded with the first Lifetime Achievement Award from the Growing Spine Foundation for his unwavering dedication to the care of children with spine and thoracic deformities. It is in his name that ICEOS continues to recognize those who have made a significant difference within the field of Early Onset Scoliosis throughout their careers.

Photos from top to bottom: Dr. Robert M. Campbell, Jr.; President and Founder Behrooz A. Akbarnia presenting GSF Lifetime Achievement Award to Dr. Campbell at the 10th Anniversary Gala in San Diego; Dr. Campbell receiving his award at the 10th Anniversary Gala.