Behrooz A. Akbarnia Award for Best Research Paper

The Behrooz A. Akbarnia Award for Best Research paper is granted to the author(s) of one free paper annually at ICEOS. Candidates for the award are selected by the ICEOS program chairs, who base their decisions on the highest scored papers in the abstract submission process. Congress attendees are then given the opportunity to vote on-site during the congress to select the distinguished prize recipient.

2018 Award Recipient - Ilkka J. Helenius, MD, PhD

On Friday November 16, 2018, the Behrooz Akbarnia Award for best paper was awarded to Dr. Ilkka J. Helenius, presenter and author of “Surgical and Health Related Quality of Life Outcomes of Growing Rod Graduates for Severe versus Moderate Early-Onset Scoliosis”. Co-authors of the paper are Paul Sponseller, Anna McClung, Jeff Pawelek, Muharrem Yazici, John Emans, George Thompson, Charles Johnston, Suken A. Shah, Behrooz Akbarnia, and the Growing Spine Study Group.

The aim of their study was to compare surgical and quality-of-life outcomes at the end of growing rod treatment in patients with severe versus moderate early-onset scoliosis (EOS), as knowledge of the outcomes of severe EOS after growth-friendly treatment is limited because this condition is uncommon. The results of this project documented that delaying surgery until the major curve has progressed beyond 90° is associated with larger residual deformity and more complications than treating at a lesser curve magnitude. Quality-of-life outcomes were similar between those with severe and moderate EOS.

Photo: Program Committee Chair Lindsay Andras, MD with award winner Illka J. Helenius, MD, PhD.

Past Award Recipients

2017: Daniel Bouton, Lori Karol, Kiley Poppino, Charles Johnston; Continued Deterioration in Pulmonary Function at Minimum 18-Year Follow-up from Early Thoracic Fusion in Non-Neuromuscular Scoliosis

2016: Amanda Whittaker; Juvenile Idiopathic Scoliosis: Brace Treatment to Skeletal Maturity